Walk a little slower

Walk-a-little-slower-blog-pic

I love this poem because I think we all need to make a concerted effort to live life at a pace our children can keep up with.

With holiday time looming and all of us working and living at a frantic pace, perhaps it’s a good time to be mindful of giving our time and attention to our little ones – even if it’s only for just a short time each day.

“Walk a little slower Daddy” said a child so small,
“I’m following in your footsteps and I don’t want to fall.
Sometimes your steps are very fast, Sometimes they’re hard to see;
So walk a little slower, Daddy, For you are leading me.
Someday when I’m all grown up, You’re what I want to be;
Then I will have a little child who’ll want to follow me.
And I would want to lead just right, And know that I was true,
So walk a little slower, Daddy, For I must follow you.”

– Author Unknown

1 Comment

Filed under Dads, Inspiration, Parenting

One response to “Walk a little slower

  1. Pingback: Walk a little slower | On Becoming

Leave a Reply

